Decibel Festival 08

This year the annual Decibel Festival has a real broad array of artists on tap to perform/DJ and I’m proud to say that I’ve been involved (in a small way) in making it happen. Don’t know why it took me so long to post about it, but I joined as the managing editor for communication. It’s been my first involvement with a music festival so it’s been interesting to see how much planning goes into the back-end way ahead of time in order to ensure operations run smoothly. For me the majority of my work started months earlier in gathering up writing and editing for most of the press/web related communication that went public. So now I’m eager to hear the fruits of all our labor, the following of which are personal highlights for me:

  • Detroit Techno: Past, Present & Future – this will include performances by Carl Craig, Audion (live) and a late addition, Orlando Voorn (live). This should be a real treat as Orlando is one of my favorite artists to represent Detroit techno without having lived there, (I stand corrected). He DJed at a club in Seattle last year but the sound did not do him justice, plus this will be a live set so I’m hoping to hear some new NightVision material along with a few classics  (“Flash” or “Game One” would be amazing). Then of course there is the indelible Carl Craig, a seemingly prolific artist and remixer (beginning to think he’s the Rumplestilskin of techno since everything he touches turns to gold) and while not a great technical DJ, he’s got great taste in programming that  should make for a solid set.
  • The Trinity – no, not the holy Detroit trinity but a stellar trio of techno DJs (Jerry Abstract, Derek Plaslaiko, and Jeff Samuel) who all have origins in the Mid-West and should bring a slamming techno beatdown and then some. Derek and Jerry especially are known for pulling out secret weapon tracks that really alter the mood of their sets while enhancing the overall flow so should be a treat. I caught Jeff at last year’s festival and he whipped out a stormer of a set, nothing like what I’ve heard from his own music. Memo to self: bring earplugs.
  • Decibel Finale: a varied lineup that includes the Bug, Flying Lotus, Fax and Supermayer.  Excited to see Flying Lotus. A friend told me to check some youtube clips of him and looks like he will be entertaining to hear and watch. As you can see the rest of the artists are equally talented, but not sure what to expect from Supermayer. I haven’t been folllowing Kompakt for awhile and frankly got turned off by their album’s cheesy superhero artwork, but I used to like Michael Mayer’s DJing and Superpitcher’s music so we’ll see what happens. 
Will try and report findings at week’s end or whenever I recover. 
About Kuri

I am a dj and music journalist trying to spread the word on quality past and future techno/house/electronic music.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decibel Festival 08

  1. tom/pipecock says:

    orlando voorn did live in detroit for a couple of years here in the 00’s when he was down with UR, dont know if you knew that or not. sounds like a fun time though! tell derek i said what’s up.

  2. Kuri says:

    damn tom. I should use you as a fact checker. admittedly, I threw this together kind of last minute, but still no execuse for not spitting the truth. will do.

  3. Kuri says:

    btw, Emily from NightVision told me Orlando will be playing “Flash,” so needless to say I’m excited.

  4. tom/pipecock says:

    i dont think what you said was wrong as he didnt live in detroit until well after he had established himself as representing that sound!

    seeing him play live would definitely be dope, its a wonder they never had him do that at DEMF before! i expect a full report….. 😉

  5. Kuri says:

    yeah, i had it almost right the first time 😉

    mos def, full report forthcoming.

  6. daniel says:

    great mix on justgoodmusic!
    deadlynotes.com

Leave a Reply

