Lost in the Sun mix

2597643556_f298eb8106

I have been resting at home this week, recovering from eye surgery (not Lasik, so still have the glasses). I did manage to cobble together a mix, bearing through squinting eyes and double vision but still holding onto the music coming off these well worn records. It’s a hodge podge collection of tunes but with a definite thread tying them all together, whether it be a relative commonality among most artists or maybe just the fact this was my first vinyl only mix in some time. I was glad to be able to pull out some older tracks I haven’t played in years and some that I had recently bought but not yet played. As you ‘ll be able to tell from the tracklisting, Dan Curtin is back on my radar again. Not so much for recent work but for how fresh his earlier tracks really were. To any of you that missed those tracks, you can find a lot of the Peacefrog releases digitally as well as Delsin having just released a Planetary 12″ last year. I always found Curtin’s tracks so difficult to mix due to how much they change their melodic themes within the space of one track, but it was also a trait that should be admired in terms of taking a brave approach to production and refusing to pump out more cookie-cutter tracks. Unfortunately it’s not an approach he has continued with over the more recent releases. Dan when you coming back with the funk? We miss ya. 

lost-in-the-sun-mix

Gwen Guthrie – 7th Heaven (Larry Levan mix) (Island)
Gaz Nevada – I.C. Love Affair (ZYX)
Dopplereffekt – Infophysix (Dataphysix Engineering)
Original Rockers – Sexy Selector (Different Drummer)
Kenny Larkin – Northern Light (Buzz/Rush Hour)
7th Plain – Lost (GPR)
The Rahasaan Society – Sunseeker (Solar Complexed 1 Movements) (Skunk)
Dan Curtin – Inner-View (Metamorphic)
D’Kawa – Kurokin (Kodaira)
Dauwd – Sa Ba Ka (Travelling Sounds)
Kai Alcé – Corner Manuvers (Real Soon)
I:Cube – Disco Cubizm (Daft Punk mix) (Versatile)
Norma Jean Bell – Do You Wanna Party? (KDJ mix) (F.C.R.)
The Dells – No Way Back re-edit (white)
Purveyors of Fine Funk – Summer Funk (Peacefrog)

PS. Anyone know anything about this Wesley Rahsaan cat behind the “Sunseeker” record? Label says recorded at Asprilla Studio, Detroit, USA. Never heard another peep from him. Alias of someone else? Dodgy label I know but maybe.

About Kuri

I am a dj and music journalist trying to spread the word on quality past and future techno/house/electronic music.
This entry was posted in Mixes, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lost in the Sun mix

  1. Matt says:

    Really looking forward to this Kuri. Regarding Dan Curtin, I picked up this one just today as it randomly showed up used at the local usually-mostly-indie-rock record store: http://www.discogs.com/Dan-Curtin-Presents-Time-Undefined-Alive-Cascade/release/3335

    I hope all is well with you.

  2. Kuri says:

    nice find Matt. I’ve got the Time Undefined vol 2 EP which has some great slightly more housey leaning efforts. Kind of tracky,loopy bizness which I likened to some of the Chi-town Relief mid-90’s releases. But with that Curtin take of course 😉

    thanks for dropping by.

  3. teleost says:

    looks nice, downloading now. I only first heard that Norma Jean Bell track a week or so ago and I love it.

  4. Matt says:

    I really, really enjoyed this Kuri. I didn’t know that Dauwd track but definitely want it now. Looking forward to more mixes. Thanks again.

  5. rubsilent says:

    Just noticed this, track list looks nice Kuri.
    Downloading.

  6. CZ says:

    Since we finally met this weekend I thought I should GO back through older mixes of yours that I missed the first time around. Really loving this one as a focus tool for getting work done at the office. Badass. Especially feeling that Dan Curtin and the D’Kawa!!!

  7. mead says:

    Regarding your question about Rahsaan Society aka Wesley Rahsaan – did you ever find out any info on him? ‘Sunseeker’ has kept me enchanted for years and I can’t find any info on him, either. Recently used that tune in a video mash: http://youtu.be/UryAeRmJdjY?hd=1

Leave a Reply

